• 01582 613331


governors speech 1000

governors only 1000


School Governors are essential for the effective management and development of a school. They help to provide strategic management, make executive decisions and are there to support and challenge the school leaders.

Governors get to know the strengths and weaknesses of the school, understanding the challenges it faces, and are directly involved in setting appropriate priorities for improvement. They carry out their statutory duties and ensure that the pupils and staff are safe.


Chair of Governors  Mr Robin Cowan 
Vice Chair Cllr Jacqui Burnett
Co-Opted Mrs Ruth Deacon
Mr Robin Cowan
Mr Mark Cottrell
Mrs Linda Farrelly
Father Yenda Smejkal
Mrs Ann Simmonds
Mr Mathew Davies
Local-Authority Cllr Jacqui Burnett
Staff Mrs Morag Howes
Parent  Mr Azhar Raza (Vacancy) 
Head of School Mr David Bradshaw
Clerk to Governors Mrs Michelle O'Driscoll

The Governing Body Consists of four different types of Governor:


The Governing Body are divided into different committees which meet termly. The main committees are:

  • Premises
  • Curriculum
  • Operations (Personnel & Finance)

The full Governing Body meets five times a year. The agendas are full and the discussions are lively.

Governors are elected for a four year term of office. If becoming a School Governor is something that interests you please do not hesitate to contact the clerk to the Governor, Mrs O’Driscoll at the school office for further details.

All governors over last 12 month period


Governing Body Attendance

Hillborough Junior School
Hillborough Road, Luton, LU1 5EZ 

Tel: 01582 613331

Website created by Paul Williams

© 2023 Hillborough Junior School. All Rights Reserved.